So the revolution is here… permanent cellphone batteries.

Many months ago, I stopped into Best Buy to get my cellphone looked at. While I waited, the Eastern Regional Sales Manager for Motorola Mobility was visiting that store. I had a brief moment with him, and he showed me the future – a newer phone, naturally. I observed that there was no battery door, and asked what was up with the back – did he have a case on it? No, the next generation of cellphones will not offer removable batteries. The batteries will be molded into the phone, and when the battery dies, you go get a newer phone. No, it won’t last 8 years, maybe barely more than 2 years, just long enough to get you to the next contract renewal. I asked why this was happening, since I was a customer who bought an original Razr V3 and put the extended battery in it – I wanted to remain cord free for as long as possible, and on my enV Touch, the battery failed about 16 months into the 2 year contract – I had to buy a replacement battery, I explained to the man. He responded that the cellphone service providers were pushing for these built in designs, and after all, they are subsidizing the price, so they should have some say in the matter. I responded, firmly, “Do NOT do this”. My thoughts are that we consumers do not NEED to be forced to be a disposable society any more than we already are. ME, I do not desire to change, outside of gaining functionality that I desire (for practical reasons, not just the ‘me too’ feelings). So, here they are, on the market, hope you like the future you were sold.

Leave a Reply

